Oregano Almond Pesto

One of the first things I learned how to make on my own, was a classic basil-pine nut pesto. I remember standing in my mom’s kitchen, as a young teen, measuring each ingredient meticulously. I smelt the basil leaves before dropping them in the food processor, intoxicated by their scent. I stood anxiously watching all of the ingredients come together in the food processor, and couldn’t wait to have a bite from my green work of art. I had a taste of the smooth mixture, and suddenly realized it was like having the perfect bite. Before that moment, I had tasted pesto in restaurants, or from store bought jars, but it wasn’t like this, not fresh, not homemade. Since that moment, basil pesto became my signature condiment and I would make it as often as I had the chance.

Today, almost a decade later, I still love pesto. When made with fresh ingredients, they are perfect additions to cheese plates served with crackers, pasta, pizza, salad, savory pastries, grilled cheese, and the list goes on and on…

Recently, I became curious about pesto’s potential and wanted to experiment with other ingredients. I decided to make a day out of it, and invited K.G from Taste TLV to come over and experiment with different herbs, nuts, spices, and cheeses. We came up with some great recipes, that I will publish over the next couple of weeks. For starters, give this Oregano Almond Pesto a try. Simply add all of the ingredients to your food processor, until it becomes the consistency that you like (I prefer more texture). Make sure to not over blend.

Enjoy!!

7 thoughts on “Oregano Almond Pesto

  1. I also love all kinds of pesto and the fresh oregano in here sounds awesome. I’m so happy to have discovered your blog! It’s stunning. We seem to have a lot in common – I’m also a food writer/photographer, and my husband and I are both native New Yorkers living in Israel (we’re in Be’er Sheva but I’m Tel Aviv often).

  2. Pingback: Sovârf aka oregano | Ierburi Uitate

Leave a Reply

