Spinach Shakshuka

A couple of months back, O and I came across an alternative “green” Shakshuka recipe in The Book of New Israeli Food, that my brother got us. When I finally got my hands on some real spinach; not the packaged baby leaves, I had that exact dish on my mind.

Shakshuka, a common Middle Eastern dish, is typically; eggs poached in a spiced tomato sauce made with garlic, onions, and peppers (sweet and spicy), and is often served in the pan it was cooked in. This green variation maintains the same concept, except the eggs are poached on a bed of sautéed spinach, topped with cheese. This dish is ideal for savory weekend breakfasts, or quick & light weeknight dinners. (Perfect for your next Meatless Monday!)

We made several modifications to the original recipe and decided to go with onions, garlic, and opted for goat cheese, providing creamy texture, and crumbled Danish Blue for tangy flavor.

I used an 8 inch cast iron pan, which called for:

3 TBS. Olive Oil

1 small yellow Onion (thinly sliced)

3 large cloves of Garlic (thinly sliced, or crushed)

5 cups of Spinach leaves (rinsed)

2 TBS. Goat Cheese (crumbled)

  2 TBS. Danish Blue Cheese (crumbled, big chunks)

3 Large Eggs

Pinch of Chilli Flakes

S&P to taste

Method:

Heat Olive Oil in pan; add onions, garlic, and spinach (in that order, wait 3-5 minutes before adding the next ingredient). Once the Spinach has wilted, add chilli flakes,  S&P, goat cheese, and eggs. Cover your pan, and allow the whites to cook until firm (5-10 minutes). Add the Danish Blue, turn the flame off, cover until ready to serve.

Enjoy!!

9 thoughts on “Spinach Shakshuka

  1. WOW! I love that the blue cheese is just slightly melted, I can taste and smell it just from your pics. YUM, I have to try this for my Sunday morning breakfast.

  2. Will it sound like a cliché if I said this was like a déja vu – I made something similar for breakfast today – instead of cheese I had used sausages!

    I’ll have to try with cheese now:)

Leave a Reply

